Explore

  • Live Long: What I Learned Along the Way William Shatner

    Summary:
    Star Trek legend and veteran author William Shatner discusses the meaning of life, finding value in work, and living well whatever the age in this fascinating audiobook.

    Check Catalog
  • My American Dream: A Life of Love, Family, and Food Lydia Matticchio Bastianich

    Summary:
    Lidia’s story begins with her upbringing in Pula, a formerly Italian city turned Yugoslavian under Tito’s communist regime. She enjoys a childhood surrounded by love and security, despite the family’s poverty, learning everything about Italian cooking from her beloved grandmother, Nonna Rosa. When the communist regime begins investigating the family, they flee to Trieste, Italy, where they spend two years in a refugee camp waiting for visas to enter the United States, an experience that will shape Lidia for the rest of her life. At age twelve, Lidia starts a new life in New York. She soon begins working in restaurants as a young teenager, the first step toward the creation of her own American dream. And she tells in great, vivid detail the fulfillment of that dream: her close-knit family, her dedication and endless passion for food that ultimately leads to multiple restaurants, several cookbooks, and twenty years on Public Television as the host of her own cooking show.

    Check Catalog
  • The Girls in the Picture: A Novel Melanie Benjamin

    Summary:
    In 1914, Frances Marion finds her calling writing screenplays, and in a friendship with actress Mary Pickford. But the two women’s ambitions are challenged by limitations imposed on their gender, and their astronomical success could come at a price.

    Check Catalog
  • Feel Free: Essays Zadie Smith

    Summary

    From Zadie Smith, one of the most beloved authors of her generation, a new collection of essays

    Since she burst spectacularly into view with her debut novel almost two decades ago, Zadie Smith has established herself not just as one of the world’s preeminent fiction writers, but also a brilliant and singular essayist. She contributes regularly to The New Yorker and the New York Review of Books on a range of subjects, and each piece of hers is a literary event in its own right.

    Arranged into five sections–In the World, In the Audience, In the Gallery, On the Bookshelf, and Feel Free–this new collection poses questions we immediately recognize. What is The Social Network–and Facebook itself–really about? “It’s a cruel portrait of us: 500 million sentient people entrapped in the recent careless thoughts of a Harvard sophomore.” Why do we love libraries? “Well-run libraries are filled with people because what a good library offers cannot be easily found elsewhere: an indoor public space in which you do not have to buy anything in order to stay.” What will we tell our granddaughters about our collective failure to address global warming? “So I might say to her, look: the thing you have to appreciate is that we’d just been through a century of relativism and deconstruction, in which we were informed that most of our fondest-held principles were either uncertain or simple wishful thinking, and in many areas of our lives we had already been asked to accept that nothing is essential and everything changes–and this had taken the fight out of us somewhat.”

    Gathering in one place for the first time previously unpublished work, as well as already classic essays, such as, “Joy,” and, “Find Your Beach,” Feel Free offers a survey of important recent events in culture and politics, as well as Smith’s own life. Equally at home in the world of good books and bad politics, Brooklyn-born rappers and the work of Swiss novelists, she is by turns wry, heartfelt, indignant, and incisive–and never any less than perfect company. This is literary journalism at its zenith.

    Check Catalog
  • The First Wave: The D-Day Warriors Who Led the Way to Victory in World War II Alex Kershaw

    Summary

    “Meet the assaulters: Pathfinders plunging from the black, coxswains plowing the whitecaps, bareknuckle Rangers scaling sheer rock… Fast-paced and up-close, this is history’s greatest story reinvigorated as only Alex Kershaw can.” –Adam Makos, New York Times bestselling author of Spearhead and A Higher Call

    The New York Times bestselling author of The Liberator and Avenue of Spies returns with an utterly immersive, adrenaline-driven account of D-Day combat.

    Beginning in the predawn darkness of June 6, 1944, The First Wave follows the remarkable men who carried out D-Day’s most perilous missions. The charismatic, unforgettable cast includes the first American paratrooper to touch down on Normandy soil; the glider pilot who braved antiaircraft fire to crash-land mere yards from the vital Pegasus Bridge; the brothers who led their troops onto Juno Beach under withering fire; as well as a French commando, returning to his native land, who fought to destroy German strongholds on Sword Beach and beyond. Readers will experience the sheer grit of the Rangers who scaled Pointe du Hoc and the astonishing courage of the airborne soldiers who captured the Merville Gun Battery in the face of devastating enemy counterattacks. The first to fight when the stakes were highest and the odds longest, these men would determine the fate of the invasion of Hitler’s Fortress Europe–and the very history of the twentieth century.

    The result is an epic of close combat and extraordinary heroism. It is the capstone Alex Kershaw’s remarkable career, built on his close friendships with D-Day survivors and his intimate understanding of the Normandy battlefield. For the seventy-fifth anniversary, here is a fresh take on World War II’s longest day.

    Check Catalog
  • Once More We Saw Stars Jayson Greene

    Summary

    “A gripping and beautiful book about the power of love in the face of unimaginable loss.”
    –Cheryl Strayed

    For readers of The Bright Hour and When Breath Becomes Air, a moving, transcendent memoir of loss and a stunning exploration of marriage in the wake of unimaginable grief.

    As the book opens: two-year-old Greta Greene is sitting with her grandmother on a park bench on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. A brick crumbles from a windowsill overhead, striking her unconscious, and she is immediately rushed to the hospital. But although it begins with this event and with the anguish Jayson and his wife, Stacy, confront in the wake of their daughter’s trauma and the hours leading up to her death, Once More We Saw Stars quickly becomes a narrative that is as much about hope and healing as it is about grief and loss. Jayson recognizes, even in the midst of his ordeal, that there will be a life for him beyond it–that if only he can continue moving forward, from one moment to the next, he will survive what seems unsurvivable. With raw honesty, deep emotion, and exquisite tenderness, he captures both the fragility of life and absoluteness of death, and most important of all, the unconquerable power of love. This is an unforgettable memoir of courage and transformation–and a book that will change the way you look at the world.

    Check Catalog
Request an audiobook

Library Hours

  • Library

  • Bookshop

  • Mon
  • MondayMon
  • 9 AM - 9 PM
  • Closed
  • Tues
  • TuesdayTues
  • 9 AM - 9 PM
  • 10 AM - 2 PM; 6:30 PM - 8:30 PM
  • Wed
  • WednesdayWed
  • 9 AM - 9 PM
  • Closed
  • Thu
  • ThursdayThu
  • 1 PM - 9 PM
  • Closed
  • Fri
  • FridayFri
  • 9 AM - 5:30 PM
  • 10 AM - 12 PM
  • Sat
  • SaturdaySat
  • 9 AM - 5 PM
  • 10 AM - 2 PM
  • Sun
  • SundaySun
  • Closed
  • Closed

The Friends of MPL Bookshop

If you want a book that you can take home forever (without worrying about the late fee!), be sure to check out the Milton Public Library bookshop! We have books to suit every reading level and genre preference.

Learn more